7 ½ Habits of Highly Successful Lifelong Learners

I just completed the 7 ½ Habits of Highly Successful Lifelong Learners. The assignment was to pick one that was easiest and another that was hardest and talk about it. For the easiest I actually could not decide between “Accept responsibility for your own learning” and “Have confidence in yourself as a competent, effective Learner.” I feel like both of these are pretty solid. I’ve never really felt like I cannot learn something if the resources are available. Given an interest or a need I will learn whatever I need to learn. At least so far that is how it has worked out anyway. Sometimes this goes easy, sometimes it is hard. That’s where the responsibility part comes in to play. I know it is me who will ultimately benefit from the learning, so easy or hard I’ll keep at it until I am satisfied with my retention.

The hardest one has to be “play” for me. Let’s face it. I’m not a play kind of guy. It’s 3:21 in the morning as I type this on a Sunday night (Monday morning?) and I am just finishing up work at my second job away from CML. I have to report to library work at 9:00 in the morning.  I tend to go to work each day, and then I … go to work again. After some sleep, I will repeat this again and again all week long. This just feels normal to me.  Don’t get me wrong.  I do enjoy time off here and there, but once every two weeks or so is generally what I aim at as time to get together with friends.  I think my biggest break throughout the week is reading everyday on my lunch break.  Yeah I know.  I’m a boring guy. Hey I watched two movies this weekend. I’m getting better. Maybe.

Leave a Reply

